Hamble River Rowing

Welcome

Hamble River Rowing Club was set up with the aim  to encourage and develop traditional recreational rowing on the River Hamble. The club is based at the famous Jolly Sailor pub in Bursledon, has an informal and relaxed style, where the idea is to allow all members a chance to row in a safe and enjoyable environment.  

As long as the tide is high enough, members can get afloat with minimal cost and enjoy rowing with fellow enthusiasts.

If you are interested in joining our club, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for further information and to arrange an introductory row.

Rowing times for the next few weeks are below:

For club rowing please arrive 15 minutes before the published row time. This is so we know how many boats we will be using  and to get them ready. Please help with getting the boats ready for rowing, and ask if you are not sure what to do.

Night time rows require lifejackets/buoyancy aids to be worn and a headtorch. Thank you!

Social Rows: we are out for longer and usually stop for coffee- so allow 2 to 21/2 hours for a social row.

Just Row: we are usually out for about an hour, there is no coffee stop! The two rows are usually arranged so that you can do both if you would like to.

Please keep an eye on this page, as rowing times may change.

You can use EasyTide to check the tides for the next 7 days.

 

Date Meet at  Leave Details
Sunday 28 January 09:45 10:00 Just Row
Sunday 28 January  11:00 11:15 Social Row
Tuesday 30 January 14:00 14:15 Afternoon Row
Sunday 04 February 16:00 16:15 Just Row
Sunday 04 February 16:30 16:45 Social Row- meet at 1630 to leave at 1645- evening row to Warsash for a drink. Buoyancy aids/lifejackets and head torches required as it will be dark when we return
Tuesday 06 February 18:00 18:15 Evening Row
Thursday 08 February 10:00 1015 Morning Row- good tide to head upriver to Horse and Jockey for coffee. Decide on day.
Sunday 11 February 09:45 10:00 Just Row 
Sunday 11 February 11:00 11:15 Social Row- good tide to head up river to Horse and Jockey for coffee
Tuesday 13 February 14:00 14:15 Afternoon Row- good tide to possibly head upriver to Horse and Jockey. Decide on the day!
Saturday 17 February     Tudor Winter Series Race 2 of 3
Sunday 18 February 16:00 16:15 Just Row
Sunday 18 February 16:15 16:30 Social Row- coffee at The Jolly afterwards
Tuesday 20 February 10:00 10:15 Morning Row
Tuesday 20 February 18:00 18:15 Evening Row
Sunday 25 February 08:45 09:00 Just Row
Sunday 25 February 10:00 10:15 Social Row
Tuesday 27 February 14:00 14:15 Afternoon Row
Tuesday 27 February 2024 07:00pm   AGM 1900 at GAF Centre, School Road, Bursledon, SO31 8BX

Looking ahead to some events in 2024! There are more details,  on our events page.

Saturday 17 February Tudor Winter Series (2)

Saturday 16 March Tudor Winter Series (3)

Easter Monday (1 April) Litter Pick

Friday 19 April Friendly Friday at Tudor Sailing Club more details on events page.

Saturday 27 April Expedition row on the Beaulieu River- require people to tow.

Saturday 11 May Hamble River Raid

Saturday 15 June Cockleshell Challenge 

Saturday 3 August Tudor Challenge

Saturday 21 September Great River Race

Through the summer season, there are a number of away rows to other rivers, as well as participating in the races and events organised on the Hamble river - including the Hamble River Raid and the Swanwick, Bursledon and Warsash Regatta.