Hamble River Rowing

Welcome

Hamble River Rowing Club was set up with the aim  to encourage and develop traditional recreational rowing on the River Hamble. The club is based at the famous Jolly Sailor pub in Bursledon, has an informal and relaxed style, where the idea is to allow all members a chance to row in a safe and enjoyable environment.  

As long as the tide is high enough, members can get afloat with minimal cost and enjoy rowing with fellow enthusiasts.

August rowing times are below:

On Sundays, please continue to arrive 15 minutes before the published row time. Night time rows require lifejackets/buoyancy aids to be worn and a headtorch. Thank you!

Social Rows: we are out for longer and usually stop for coffee- so allow 2 to 21/2 hours for a social row.

Just Row: we are usually out for about an hour, there is no coffee stop! The two rows are timed so that you can do both if you would like to.

Please keep an eye on this page, as rowing times may change.

Date Leave at Details
Friday 5 August 1930 Club Summer BBQ
Sunday 7 August   0800   Just Row
  1700 Social Row
Tuesday 9 August 1000 Morning Row
Tuesday 9 August From 1900 Evening Row
Saturday 13 August   Tudor Challenge- 10 miles around Langstone Harbour details can be found here
Sunday 14 August 1300 Social Row (may still have two boats at Tudor or be launching boats)
Tuesday 16 August 1400 Afternoon Row
Sunday 21 August   Expedition row to Hill Head- very weather dependent!
Sunday 21 August 0800 Just Row
Sunday 21 August 1700 Social Row
Tuesday 23 August 1000 Morning Row
Saturday 27 August 1000 Hosting Tudor Rowing Club (5 boats, will need 5 coxes)
Sunday 27 August Times TBC Just Row
Sunday 27 August Time TBC Social Row
Tuesday 30 August 1400 Afternoon Row upriver
Friday 2 September 1400 Afternoon Row 
Saturday 3 September    Swanwick Bursledon and Warsash Regatta including gig race details are here
Sunday 4 September 1500 Social Row
  1730  Just Row
Saturday 10 September   Great River Race details can be found here 

The Rowing Diary has also been updated with rows and events for the coming months. 

Through the summer season, there are a number  of away rows to other rivers, as well as participating in the races and events organised on the Hamble river - including the Hamble River Raid and the Swanwick, Bursledon and Warsash Regatta. The dates for these events are currently on the social events page of the website http://www.hambleriverrowing.co.uk/index.php/social-events as well as the Rowing Diary page and is updated as we plan new events.

If you are interested in joining our club, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for further information and to arrange an introductory row.