Hamble River Rowing

Welcome

Hamble River Rowing club was set up with the aim  to encourage and develop traditional recreational rowing on the river Hamble. The "club" based at the famous Jolly Sailor pub in Bursledon, has an informal and relaxed style, where the idea is to allow all members a chance to row in a safe and enjoyable environment.  

Jolly Sailor

As long as the tide is high enough on Tuesday evenings, in the summer months, members can get afloat with minimal cost and enjoy rowing with fellow enthusiasts. Alternatively most Sundays are available for longer rows up and down the river, with a stop for tea and cake in Hamble a popular diversion.

On the Tuesday evenings that the tide will go out too early, we may organise a row down the river to one of the many pubs in Hamble, have a pint and some supper, before returning to the Jolly on the incoming tide.

November and December Club rowing times

There are a few Tuesday 6pm rows in as there has been some interest in continuing to row on Tuesdays when the tide is right. For these rows buoyancy aids/ like jackets will need to be worn  and a head torch will be useful. They will be weather dependent. If the weather is not good for rowing, we may just need to adjourn to the pub.


The Sunday times are departure times. Please make sure you are at the Jolly 15 minutes before the row to help prepare the gigs.

Tuesday 9 November: no row
Sunday 14 November 9am row

Tuesday 16 November: no row
Sunday 21 November: 10am row

Tuesday 23 November: no row- but come along for a drink from 630pm onwards. There is usually a gathering of members on 'no row' evenings in the Winter.
Sunday 28 November: 3pm row

Tuesday 30 November: 6pm row
Sunday 5 December: 10am row

Tuesday 7 December: 7pm Christmas Meal at the Jolly. Please contact Amanda or Jo by 23 November if you would like to come along.
Sunday 12 December: 3pm ( just , tide rising still may need to wait 5/10 minutes for the gigs to float!)

Tuesday 14 December: 6pm row
Sunday 19 December: 10am row

Tuesday 21 December: no row
Friday 24 December Christmas Eve row 2pm. An opportunity to get those Santa hats and Christmas jumpers out!

Sunday 26th Boxing Day, row off that Christmas Dinner! 3pm

Tuesday 28 December evening row 6pm
 
January 2022
 
Saturday 1 January: New Year's Day row. Details TBC 
Sunday 2 January: 10am row

 

Through the summer season, there are a number  of away rows to other rivers, as well as participating in the races and events organised on the Hamble river - including the Hamble River Raid and Bursledon Regatta.

If you are interested in joining our club, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for further information and to arrange an introductory row.